PAC Committee

Park Advisory Committee

The Park Advisory Committee (PAC) is comprised of community members who assist the Park District by providing feedback, direction and suggestions.


  • Engage citizen members in direction of the agency
  • Provide voice from community (business, agencies, general public, etc.)
  • Means to generate suggestions for improvement
  • Collect multiple perspectives and skill sets
  • Advocate for Parks, Recreation, Open Space Conservation and Environmental Education

Responsibilities & Expectations

  • Offer suggestions, not policy or governing
  • Knowledge of services, departments, and people connected to the organization
  • Understand the organization’s vision, mission, and strategic plan
  • Building community support and visibility
  • Focus on long range planning, community needs, land acquisition/development, facility use, partnerships/funding opportunities, etc.


  • Each member would serve a three-year term.
  • There shall be no term limits.
  • Terms shall be staggered. One-third each year.
  • They will be appointed by the Park Commission, recommended by the PAC.
  • The chair and vice-chair shall serve one-year terms, appointed by the Board.
Ann Baird James Hartzell Jr.  Nick Nolan
Dan French Mandy Havenar Todd Rappold
Elizabeth Guttman Dan Kerber Theodore Ristoff
Arthur Haddad Melissa Kleptz Chris Schmiesing
Chris Haines John MurphyAndrew Wannemacher